Call or Text 424-209-2083 admin@aki-usa.org
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Imagination and Movement – Who really initiates the attack?

September 14 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am PDT

Imagination and Movement

Online Class with Thomas Christaller Sensei

 

Live training and Q&A session

September 14, 2020

10:00 PST | 13:00 EST | 18:00 BST | 19:00 CEST | 02:00 JST

Register NowLearn More

Starts in...

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

Imagination and Movement - Who really initiates the attack?

Message

Moving your body usually has an intention, a reason. That's even more the case in the martial arts.

You want to cope with an attack and in the real world and you don’t know if, when, and what attack may be launched.

But what if you make this a problem for the possible attacker (in practice it is Uke)? Why should you wait? Take the initiative and make the approach of Uke a reflex and not a well thought out and controlled movement. In this way, you make the attack more predictable.

In these days of online training, you need your imagination anyway to practice without an Uke. So why not by being the active part right from the beginning?

This may give you a different experience of your own movements and how to perform an Aikido technique. You can do it on your own by feeling inside of yourself.

In my class(es) I will give you exercises and tasks to learn on your own but with Uke in your mind.

Looking forward to welcoming you the second Monday of every month!

Meet the Instructor

Prof. Dr. Thomas Christaller, Aikikai 6th dan
Prof. Dr. Thomas Christaller, Aikikai 6th dan

Head Instructor / Dojo-Cho: Bewegung & Lebenskunst

 

Thomas Christaller Sensei started Aikido in 1972. He was a student of Katsuaki Asai Shihan and the late Nobuyuki Watanabe Shihan.

In 1986 Christaller Sensei co-founded the Aikido Aikikai Club in Bonn while holding a professorship for Artificial Intelligence.

After early retirement in 2007, he founded the Center for Movement & Art of Living (Bewegung & Lebenskunst) located in Bonn.

Influenced by his interdisciplinary research with brain scientists he is easily able to explain Aikido movements and principles also by scientific insights.

He is invited to give seminars internationally in and outside the Aikido world.

Christaller Sensei is curious with how less force you can redirect an attack and dissolve it.

Registration

The base fee is $8. For those who would like to support more, we have additional sign-up options at $10, $20, $50, $75, and $100.

All fees will go towards supporting Lebenskunst Bonn dojo and AKI USA. Of course, for those who wish to, contributing more will enable us to continue to offer these types of events.

Once you have registered, please check your email for a notification with the zoom link and password.


If you’re experiencing financial strain, click here to apply for a scholarship.

(If you already have a current paid membership on Lia Suzuki’s Virtual Dojo or AKI USA, this class is open to you at no cost. Simply log in below and register.)

Details

Date:
September 14
Time:
10:00 am - 11:00 am PDT
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,

Seminar Email List

Join our seminar email list and receive notification of upcoming seminars and special discounts!

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Schedule a Free Class

Try a free class. No obligation.

You have successfully scheduled your free class. Please check your email for class details.